Ancient Brain (Spelt Wild Ale, 1 gallon test batch)

I’ve got a blend of Saccharomyces, Brettanomyces, and possibly bacteria I isolated from a Quebec brew that was itself a blend of several funky beers. You can see it above – many different and interesting morphologies under the microscope. I figured I’ll pitch the yeast into a fairly standard lambic wort (2/3 barley malt, 1/3 unmalted wheat). I’m using flaked spelt here because I have some on hand, and it should provide an interesting character. I’m not sure if it is untraditional, but I mashed high to produce a more dextrinous wort to give the Brett something to chew on long-term. This will probably sit in my basement for a while, get topped up with fruit at some point, then sit for longer to age out. I’ll probably regret not making more.

Recipe: Ancient Brain (Spelt Lambic, 1 gallon test batch)

Estimated OG (70% efficiency): 1.051
Actual OG: 1.056
Estimated IBU: 7

Fermentables:

1.25 lb / 60% 2-Row Pale Malt
0.7 lb / 33% Flaked Spelt
2 oz / 6% Acidulated Malt

Mash at 158F for 60 minutes (BIAB)

Hops:

0.1 oz Hallertauer Mittelfruh @ 60 min (7 IBU)

Boil 60 minutes, chill to 80F, aerate and pitch yeast.

Yeast: BBY009 Quebec Brett Blend

Brew Log: 

2014/07/17: Standard, 1 gallon BIAB brew.

2014/07/20: Finally, foam and bubbles and signs of fermentation. Smells remarkably tropical fruity.

2014/10/03: Bottling day. Bottled ~3.5L with 28g dextrose.  1.005. lemony, apple and pear. Nice light tartness.

cropped-yeast-anton_van_leeuwenhoek.jpg

– Richard

Leave a Reply

